Logo of the Department

  • Slider one
  • Slider two
  • Slider three
  • Slider four

About Us

The Meghalaya Public Works Department came into existence along with creation of the State of Meghalaya on the 21st January, 1972 with Shri G. C. Momin as the first Chief Engineer and Secretary. There were two Circle offices at Shillong and one at Tura. The number of Divisional offices were five number in Khasi Hills, two number in Garo Hills and one at Jowai with minimum number of Sub-Divisional offices. The Government of Meghalaya realized the urgent need of creating a good road network, as in this landlocked hilly State, the only mode of transportation is by road. There has been fast expansion of the Department to take up the challenge of road network building, which is the most essential infrastructure for development and growth of the state and the people in general.

Continue Reading


Minister, P.W.D (Roads & Buildings)

  • Shri. P. Tynsong

    Minister, P.W.D (Roads)

Grievance Redress Mechanism for all matters relating to Meghalaya Integrated Transport Projects(MITP)funded by World Bank may be addressed to the Meghalaya CMs Whatsapp Based Public Grievance Redress Mechanism - Whatsapp number 9436394363 or may lodge their grievance in MEGPGRAMS website